Since May 1, 2006, Utah has required drivers convicted of certain driving offenses involving alcohol to install ignition interlock devices on their vehicles. And, since 2009, first-time DUI offenders in Utah are also required to install these devices. All drivers should take note of the requirements of these devices and how they affect a person’s daily life.
Offenses That Require Ignition Interlock Restricted Driving Status
If drivers are convicted of one of the following offenses, they will be on ignition interlock restricted status for:
DUI – even for a first offense
Violating a ignition interlock restricted status by driving a vehicle without an ignition interlock device
Any subsequent DUI, alcohol-related reckless driving, driving while impaired, driving with a measurable amount of a controlled substance in the body and causing bodily harm or metabolite offenses within ten years of the first DUI conviction
Refusal to submit to a chemical test
Drivers’ alcohol restricted status is no longer listed on their Utah driver’s license, as it was in the past. Instead, the state keeps a database of drivers on alcohol restricted status and police have access to the information in the database.
Length Of Interlock Restricted Driving Status
The length of time that drivers’ alcohol restricted status lasts varies with every offense that put them in interlock restricted status. Drivers will be on ignition interlock restricted status for:
18 months for a first DUI conviction if the driver was 21 years or older at the time of the arrest
Three years for a first DUI conviction if the driver was under 21 years old at the time of the arrest
Three years for a subsequent DUI, alcohol-related reckless driving, driving while impaired, driving with a measurable amount of a controlled substance in the body and causing bodily harm or metabolite offenses
Three years for an interlock restricted driver status violation
Three years for refusal to submit to a chemical test
Six years for felony DUI
10 years for automobile homicide
Drivers convicted of operating a vehicle in violation of ignition interlock restricted status will also lose their driver’s license for one year in addition to the extended time on ignition interlock restricted status penalty.
If you are facing DUI charges, an ignition interlock device is most likely in your future. It’s important to contact an experienced DUI attorney who can discuss the law as they apply to your case.
Contact A Utah DUI Penalties Lawyer Today
Call Greg S. Law at 801-261-6228 local or 888-784-3554 toll free.
If you have questions about your rights following a recent DUI arrest or the penalties involved we can help. Call or email Greg S. Law in Salt Lake City, Utah. We offer a free initial consultation and are available for evening and weekend appointments. We also accept major credit cards for your convenience.
While this website provides general information, it does not constitute legal advice. The best way to get guidance on your specific legal issue is to contact a Utah Criminal Defense Lawyer, Greg S. Law. To schedule a meeting with Greg, please call or complete the intake form below.
Greg S. Law, provides aggressive criminal defense representation in the Salt Lake City area and throughout the state of Utah, including cities such as Ogden, Provo, Park City, Sandy, Orem, Heber, Vernal, Duchesne, Roosevelt, Tooele, West Valley City, West Jordan, Kearns, Murray, Cottonwood Heights, Layton, Kaysville, Farmington, Centerville, Bountiful, Price, Moab, Cedar City and St. George. Salt Lake County ∙ Davis County ∙ Weber County ∙ Utah County ∙ Summit County (UT)