If you have been arrested for DUI in the state of Utah, you need to take immediate action to protect your driving privileges. In fact, Utah’s DUI laws give you just 10 days to request a driver’s license hearing, and if you fail to request this hearing within 10 days of your arrest, your license will automatically be suspended.
At the offices of Greg S. Law, PLLC, we have helped hundred of clients fight DUI charges and protect their rights at driver’s license hearings. We are confident in our ability to help you, too, but keep in mind that you have little or no time to waste.
Learn more about how our experience can benefit you, and call or contact us online for a free initial consultation with an experienced Salt Lake City driver’s license hearing attorney.
The Civil Trial Prepares Us For The Criminal Trial
A DUI arrest actually sets two separate cases in motion, one civil and one criminal. The driver’s license hearing is a civil hearing that typically lasts 30 minutes or less, and is often conducted by phone. This hearing is important to your defense because it gives you the first opportunity to question the arresting officer under oath. This will help us prepare more effectively for the criminal case, and it will also “lock” the officer in to those prior statements given under oath.
Is it possible to win at the driver’s license hearing? Yes, but keep in mind that winning your civil hearing only means that you get to keep driving while the criminal case is still pending. If you are later convicted on DUI charges, you can still lose your license. In fact, if you are convicted of a first-time DUI, your driver’s license will be suspended for 120 days. A second or subsequent conviction will result in a two-year suspension.
At Greg S. Law, PLLC, our first goal is always to see our clients walk away free with no criminal record or penalties. Even when the prosecution has a strong case and we are not able to make any headway toward this goal, either through motions to suppress evidence or motions to dismiss charges on procedural grounds, we use our experience to negotiate a plea to the lesser offense of impaired driving, which carries no mandatory jail sentence, a reduced fine and no driver’s license suspension.
Contact A Utah Driver’s License Hearing Lawyer Today
Call Greg S. Law, PLLC, at 801-261-6228 local or 888-784-3554 toll free.
Learn what a difference an aggressive Utah DUI lawyer can make in your case, and make certain that your rights and interests will be fully protected throughout the legal process.
To schedule a free consultation with an experienced DUI defense lawyer, call either of the two numbers listed above or contact us with a brief e-mail message. We offer a free initial consultation, and are available for evening and weekend appointments. We also accept major credit cards.
While this website provides general information, it does not constitute legal advice. The best way to get guidance on your specific legal issue is to contact a lawyer. To schedule a meeting with an attorney, please call or complete the intake form below.
Greg S. Law, provides aggressive criminal defense representation in the Salt Lake City area and throughout the state of Utah, including cities such as Ogden, Provo, Park City, Sandy, Orem, Heber, Vernal, Duchesne, Roosevelt, Tooele, West Valley City, West Jordan, Kearns, Murray, Cottonwood Heights, Layton, Kaysville, Farmington, Centerville, Bountiful, Price, Moab, Cedar City and St. George. Salt Lake County ∙ Davis County ∙ Weber County ∙ Utah County ∙ Summit County (UT)