• Call Now: 801-261-6228 / Toll Free: 888-784-3554

  • Registered Sex Offender Living Constraints In Utah

    February 7, 2017 | Blog Sex Crimes
  • Police officer delay prostituteThose who have been convicted of a sex crime in Utah are often required to register as a sex offender. Depending on the crime a person was convicted of, he or she may have to register for 10 years or for life. There are a number of specific requirements when it comes to someone abiding by the court order to register, including constraints on where he or she can live.

    Five areas that are “off-limits” for registered sex offenders include:

    — Licensed preschools and daycares.

    — Public swimming pools.

    — Private and public primary and secondary schools. An exception is a school that is located on the grounds of a correctional facility.

    — Public playgrounds.

    — Public parks.

    As you can see, those who are registered as sex offenders in Utah can find it difficult to locate housing that meets all of the requirements.

    In addition to locating a place to live, registered sex offenders must ensure they register within three days of changing addresses, as well as when they have a secondary residence. If they change their job, educational information or vehicle, they have three days to notify their probation or parole officer or law enforcement.

    If they come into Utah from another state — no matter how long they plan on staying — they have 10 days to register. Finally, they must register twice a year.

    Sex crimes have consequences that go far beyond jail or prison time. Being on the registered sex offender list can dramatically impact a defendant’s life, job, housing and more. This is why it is important to seek the advice of an experienced criminal defense attorney to have a chance at mitigating the charges.

    Source: Utah Department of Corrections, “Sex & Kidnap Offender Registry Unit

    Contact A Salt Lake City Sex Crimes Lawyer Today

    Call Greg S. Law at 801-261-6228 local or 888-784-3554 toll free.

    Don’t give up. Even if we cannot prove your innocence, we may be able to show mitigating circumstances that may significantly reduce your charges.

    To schedule a free consultation with a Utah sexual assault lawyer, call either of the two numbers listed above or contact us with a brief e-mail message. We offer a free initial consultation, and are available for evening and weekend appointments. We also accept major credit cards.