In the state of Utah, DUI penalties are extremely tough even for individuals with no prior convictions. These penalties include the loss of your driver’s license for a significant period of time. There’s also the possibility of mandatory jail time, heavy fines, community service and a lengthy probation. An ignition interlock device is mandatory on all DUI convictions. There’s also the certainty that your insurance rates will skyrocket.There are sentence “enhancers” such as a breath test refusal or an extremely high BAC result as well, which can significantly increase these already-tough penalties.With so much at stake, don’t take chances with anything less than an experienced law firm known for aggressive defense and proven success in tough DUI cases. If you have been charged with drunk driving in the state of Utah, contact the Utah DUI law firm of Greg S. Law for a free initial consultation with an experienced Salt Lake City DUI penalties attorney.
Increasing Penalties For Multiple DUI Charges
In Utah, DUI penalties increase if you have had prior convictions within the previous 10 years. In most cases, first and second offenses are charged as misdemeanors, unless there is a serious injury or fatality resulting, and the third offense is charged as a felony DUI. Regardless, Salt Lake City DUI penalties can be harsh no matter how many prior convictions you have had:
First-offense DUI: 48 hours in jail or community service; 120 days license suspension; 24 months no-alcohol conditional license (not permitted to drive with ANY amount of alcohol in system); up to $1,885 fine; ignition interlock for 18 months
Second-offense DUI: 240 hours/10 days in jail or community service; two-year license suspension; 10 years no-alcohol conditional license; up to $1,885 fine; mandatory ignition interlock for three years
Third-offense DUI (felony DUI): up to five years in prison with a minimum 62 and a half days in jail; three-year license suspension; 10 years no-alcohol conditional license; $1,500-$5,000 fine; ignition interlock for six years
“Not a Drop” under 21 years old: Penalties for persons under 21 years old are severe, including suspension of license until age 21 in addition to fines and jail sentences
Violation of your no-alcohol conditional license could result in a fine of $1,850 in addition to other criminal penalties.
High Blood Alcohol, Higher Penalties
In addition to prior offenses, penalties for drunk driving are also directly related to the amount of alcohol in your blood. If your BAC level is .16 or higher, you could face aggravated penalties — the court could order an additional 90 days — two years onto license suspension and jail terms.
Dealing With License Suspension
Even for a first-offense DUI, you can face serious consequences in addition to criminal penalties, including confiscation of your driver’s license. Upon being pulled over and failing any roadside tests, the arresting officer will replace your driver’s license with a temporary 30-day license. This allows you time to request a hearing regarding your license suspension. Unless you request an administrative hearing within 10 days, your license will automatically be suspended by the Driver License Division (DLD) for a period of 120 days for first-offense DUI and even longer for second- or third-offense DUI.
Contact A Utah DUI Penalties Lawyer Today
Call Greg S. Law at 801-261-6228 local or 888-784-3554 toll free.
If you have questions about your rights following a recent DUI arrest, DUI penalties or how we can help, call or contact Greg S. Law in Salt Lake City, Utah, online. We offer a free initial consultation with a lawyer, and are available for evening and weekend appointments. We also accept major credit cards for your convenience.
While this website provides general information, it does not constitute legal advice. The best way to get guidance on your specific legal issue is to contact a lawyer. To schedule a meeting with an attorney, please call or complete the intake form below.
Greg S. Law, provides aggressive criminal defense representation in the Salt Lake City area and throughout the state of Utah, including cities such as Ogden, Provo, Park City, Sandy, Orem, Heber, Vernal, Duchesne, Roosevelt, Tooele, West Valley City, West Jordan, Kearns, Murray, Cottonwood Heights, Layton, Kaysville, Farmington, Centerville, Bountiful, Price, Moab, Cedar City and St. George. Salt Lake County ∙ Davis County ∙ Weber County ∙ Utah County ∙ Summit County (UT)